Taking nothing for granted

Frugal Dad has a very heartfelt post on his blog today.

His family is going through a trying time, after his mother – who is the same age as my Mom – suffered an aneuryism about six weeks ago. He writes about no longer taking things for granted because life can change in the blink of an eye.

It’s easy to get wrapped up in work, and traffic, and sports, and cleaning the house, and playing on the computer, and sometimes you can forget about what really matters – your family. Every day since we brought The Hurricane home from the hospital I have made a concerted effort to give her my undivided attention at all times, because from Monday to Friday, I only get to see her from 7 to 8 a.m. and 5:30 to 7:30 p.m.

That’s hardly enough time to waste, but yet I find myself surfing the web while she plays on the floor beside me or I catch myself flicking on the TV and crashing on the couch, when all she wants to do is play with her Daddy for the small amount of time she gets to see me each day.

Usually, The Boss and I are pretty good, but there are times where all I want to do is lie down on the couch, turn on Seinfeld and veg out. Luckily, I’ve learned that this is not only impossible with a daughter that goes 1,000 miles per hour all the time, but it’s also a stupid waste of time – time that could be spent with the greatest gift I’ve ever been given (yes, even better than RBI Baseball for the Nintendo on my 8th or 9th birthday).

Because too often I have to run to a meeting, or slo-pitch, or have a late-breaking news story to cover for my paper and I don’t get home until after The Hurricane is sleeping soundly. It breaks my heart when this happens, so I try my best not to waste one second with my little girl.

Because, as Frugal Dad’s experience shows,  you just never know what tomorrow could bring, so we have to make damn sure not to waste one second of today.

Leave a Reply

