Hey, I see you ‘lurkers’

Know what pisses me off?

Lurkers.

People who come to a blog, read it, and never leave a comment.

Now I don’t mean to brag, but since I’ve started to actually post to this site on a regular basis, I have been getting a decent amount of hits. By decent, I mean more than me, The Boss, The Parents, The Sister, and The In-Laws.

Like, five more people than that – each day – at least.

It’s certainly nothing spectacular, and definitely nothing to quit my day job over, in an attempt to become a full-time stay-at-home blogger Daddy.

Nope, nothing even close to that.

But still, there’s a bunch of people who drop by daily to see what I’m rambling on and on and on and on and on and on about, but either don’t give a shit about what I’m saying, have no thoughts on the subject, or spend most of their time trying to figure out how they landed on this page and how they can break free.

And that makes me sad.

Like, snot-dripping-down-my-face and having-to-wipe-it-off-with my-sleeve sad.

Not because I’m vain and have to know who everybody that lands on this space is, or that I’m making a difference in soooooooooo many lives (ha ha, I know) by blathering on about the most tedious aspects of my daughter’s existence, but just because it’s good to get feedback from people.

It’s nice to pick people’s brains for their life experiences, which might help me as I work to give The Hurricane a solid head-start in life.

Plus, in a selfish way, it’s nice to know if the blog is actually being enjoyed by people, or if I’m stirring up any emotions, or making people think outside the box, because I’m having a blast writing this thing, since I no longer get to write at work anymore.

So don’t be scared to leave a comment. It’s the whole point of the blogosphere – to force your opinions on complete and not-so-complete strangers.

(And no, I’m not really pissed off at you, but I have to stick with the theme, right)

23 Responses to Hey, I see you ‘lurkers’

  1. Mr Lady says:

    Here, have a hanky for that booger…

  2. Haley says:

    I’ve been reading since ‘the boss’ started pimping your blog on facebook. We went to high school together.

  3. 1sttimedad says:

    @ Mr. Lady

    Your concern sustains me.

    @ Haley

    Thanks for reading Haley. The Boss always reminds me how much I rely on her!

  4. Amy says:

    I only read it because I have to.

  5. 1sttimedad says:

    @ Amy

    Ha ha. Jerk-ass.

  6. James Austin says:

    I did a call out, and only those regulars showed up. It was depressing. Therefore, I do not lurk. Good stuff FTD.

  7. Kim says:

    I always read, but seriously i have NO advice for you on anything when it comes to raising kids, but i sure do love to have a little chucle at what “gets” you and I Love to see all the pictures!!! Keep up the Good work Dwight…. YOU ROCK! (was that good???)

  8. casey s says:

    Ever since Amy posted the address for your blog on Facebook, Ive been reading it regulary…Sorry for no comments, but I’ve enjoyed reading your posts!

  9. Dear Old Dad says:

    I am often a lurker. I figure you rarely listened to anything I said anyway so why start now?????

  10. 1sttimedad says:

    @ James Austin

    Thanks James. It’s nice to know there’s guys like you out there *ha ha*

    @ Kim

    Uh, uh Kimmer – you’re the one that rocks. My world, that is.

    @ casey s

    Man, The Boss is going to let all this credit go to her head. Thanks for commenting (and reading) though!

    @ Dear Old Dad

    Sorry, did you say somethin’?

  11. I am humbled by your awsomeness and mad blogging skillz! Teach me oh master blogger! 🙂

    OK? Can I go to bed now?

  12. 1sttimedad says:

    @ Super Mega Dad

    Well, I wasn’t looking for such praise, but I’ll take it!

  13. Eric says:

    I like your blog, always have!
    Sometimes I don’t have time to comment though b/c I am at work and reading blogs when I should be … oh working! But, there are times, like today, when I can send some words your way! Hope u have a good weekend man!

  14. nukedad says:

    I google “1st time in the super bowl” hoping to find some interesting Arizona Cardinals articles and I end up here. Damn googlebots.

  15. 1sttimedad says:

    @ Eric

    No sweat man. You’re one of the good ones *ha ha*. And I’ll be honest, I sometimes lurk on OMG too!

    @ nukedad

    LOL. And all is right with the world!

  16. RipleyFran says:

    I often read but do not comment….guilty. Al got me hooked on your blog…so it is his fault. Blame him.
    I will keep lurking!

  17. Am I a Lurker?? says:

    I started reading your blog as well after Amy posted the link on Facebook.. I am sorry for not leaving a comment.. I was thinking that you will respond by who the heck is this? I used to work with Janine and met you guys through her.. I do beleive I’ve served you and your lovely wife(The Boss) a few brewskies a time or two… I have to say though.. I absolutely LOVE your blog and love seeing the pics of your little lady as she grows… Keep on blogging man.. Your’e doing a great job!!

  18. 1sttimedad says:

    @ RipleyFran

    I knew Al was a bad influence on you Fran!

    @ Am I a Lurker??

    There’s so many former bartenders that hold a special place in my heart, so I’m glad I can return the favour!

  19. Jeanne Beneteau says:

    Bloody hell, Dwight.
    I have to lurk cause I’m lurkin’ while I’m workin’… just turn around and see.
    Love shut-up Saturday’s.
    Rest of it not too shabby, either.
    JB

  20. 1sttimedad says:

    @ Jeanne Beneteau

    You’re lucky this comment came after 5 p.m. or there would be hell … ah, you’re not buyin’ it, so I might as well quit while I’m ahead.

  21. Janelle says:

    I guess I am a guilty “lurker”… usually I am trying to fight off a pestering child, while he is trying to get on the computer desk, crawl under the desk or putting books in my face to read to him, this makes for hard typing. I must admit it does keep me up to date on your lives as we never seem to see each other often enough. I do enjoy the read and the updated pictures!

  22. alisonhanks says:

    I understand…I feel like I’m out in a black hole with the blog-the goal of having it was to exchange ideas and so forth, but it’s not as interesting if nobody comments, right?!
    alison

Leave a Reply

